ETourism Award for Nova Scotia

first_img The Celtic Colours International Festival, Event of the Year Award Cape Chignecto Provincial Park, Parks Canada Sustainable Tourism Award The Department of Tourism, Culture and Heritage, Deloitte Innovator of the Year Award, for its use of Google Earth as a marketing tool. The association’s winning website is at . Nova Scotia’s tourism industry is on a winning streak, bringing home its fourth national award this week. The inaugural Canadian E-Tourism Awards were presented in Vancouver Thursday, Nov. 8. The Antigonish Eastern Shore Tourism Association won the award for the best online marketing campaign in the small private sector category. “Today’s travellers are turning to the Internet to plan their trips and the Antigonish Eastern Shore Tourism Association is doing a stellar job of using technology and partnerships to draw them to Antigonish and the Eastern’s Shore,” said Bill Dooks, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Heritage. “I offer my congratulations to the association on their new website and this national award recognizing their online marketing efforts.” The Antigonish Eastern Shore Tourism Association won the award for a new website it developed highlighting tourism experiences in Antigonish and on the Eastern Shore such as golf, festivals and Sherbrooke Village. Tourism operators in the region worked together on vacation packages which are promoted on the site. Nova Scotia also won three awards from the Tourism Industry Association of Canada on Monday, Nov. 5. The winners were:last_img read more

Ravi and Mangala given key institutions by the President

Foreign Minister Ravi Karunanayake and Finance and Media Minister Mangala Samaraweera were given key Government institutions, as per an Extraordinary Gazette notice issued today.The Extraordinary Gazette signed by President Maithripala Sirisena allocates the Government institutions which will operate under the new cabinet Ministers appointed recently. The new Finance and Media Minister has been allocated 33 institutions including the General Treasury, Department of Fiscal Policy, Department of National Budget, Department of Public Enterprises, Department of Public Finance, Department of Treasury Operations, Department of Public Accounts, Department of Trade & Investment Policy, Department of Development Finance, Department of Information Technology Management, Department of Legal Affairs, Department of Inland Revenue, Department of Valuation, Department of Management Services, Sri Lanka Customs, Department of Excise, Insurance Board of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Accounting and Auditing Standards Monitoring Board, Public Service Mutual Provident Association, Lady Lochore Fund, Tax Appeals Commission, Sri Lanka Export Credit Insurance Corporation, Department of Information, Sri Lanka Press Council, Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation, Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation, Independent Television Network, Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd., Lanka Puwath Ltd., Selacine Rupavahini Institute, Creative Helanka Ltd., Sri Lanka Television Training Institute and the Mahinda Rajapaksa National Tele-cinema Park (Ranmihithenna). Meanwhile, the Minister of Development Assignment has been given the Department of Project Management and Monitoring, Employees’ Trust Fund and Academy of Financial Studies (Miloda).The Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms has been given the Department of Land Commissioner General, Land Reform Commission, Department of Land Settlement, Department of Surveyor General, Institute of Surveying and Mapping, Land Survey Council, Department of Land Use Policy Planning and Kantalai Sugar Company. (Colombo Gazette) Accordingly, the new Foreign Minister has been given Diplomatic Missions Abroad, the Lakshman KadirgamarInstitute for International Relations and Strategic Studies, National Oceanic Affairs Committee Secretariat, the National Lotteries Board and the Development Lotteries Board. Download (PDF, 148KB) read more