Watch: After creating history in Australia, India reach New Zealand for ODIs and T20Is

first_imgVirat Kohli-led Team India arrived in New Zealand for another gruelling limited-overs series starting January 23. India rewrote history books in Australia by winning the Test and the one day international series this month. India and New Zealand will play five ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals from Wednesday.The Indian cricket team reached Auckland Sunday morning and was given a warm welcome by the fans at the airport.The fans cheered and shouted “welcome” but the loudest cheer was reserved for the captain Virat Kohli, who was spotted with his wife Anushka Sharma in New Zealand.Hello #TeamIndia. Auckland welcomes you #NZvIND (@BCCI) January 20, 2019India produced a dominant show to win 2-1 win in the four-Test series in Australia, the three-match ODI series was a much closely-fought contest and the Kohli-led side bounced back strongly after losing the first match to win 2-1. Both the series victories were India’s first on Australian soil.The T20 series in November had ended 1-1 after the second game in Melbourne was washed out. While Virat Kohli had a below par Test and ODI series by his standards, Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant emerged top two leading run-getters in the Test series.After a poor 2018 in ODIs, MS Dhoni was back with a bang. Dhoni not only ended as India’s highest run-getter in the series, he was also named the player-of-the-series. Dhoni hit fifties in all three matches and played an important role in India’s series victory in the ODIs.advertisementIndia will be keen to maintain that form in New Zealand during the tour especially given their poor record in the country. India have played 7 bilateral ODI series in New Zealand but have one only once. While two have ended in drawn series, New Zealand have won it four times.India squad:Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman GillAlso Read | Virat Kohli is the greatest-ever ODI batsman, says Michael ClarkeAlso Read | Hardik Pandya will definitely be part of India’s World Cup squad: Michael ClarkeAlso Read | MS Dhoni eyes Sachin Tendulkar’s record in New Zealand after hitting form in Australialast_img

Leave a Reply